gossipify logo 1

After the triumph, Fluminense increased their unbeaten record in the Libertadores

The Tricolor reaches 13 matches unbeaten in the continental tournament and could enter the Top 5 if it does not lose Alianza Lima-PER

Reigning champions of the Libertadores, Fluminense has secured their place in the round of 16 and the leadership of Group A in this edition of the continental tournament. Thus, the Tricolor beat Cerro Porteño 2-1, at the Maracanã, with goals from Marcelo and Ganso, and increased its record of unbeaten matches in the competition. At the moment, the team is undefeated in 13 matches.

In this way the club is approaching historic goals in the greatest American competition. Palmeiras (2021-2022) and Atlético-MG (2019-2022) are the record holders with 18 unbeaten matches. To enter the Top 5, the Tricolore cannot stumble against Alianza Lima-PER, again at the Maracanã, on the 29th, at 9.30pm (Brasilia time), in the last round of the group stage. This, therefore, will take him to equal Argentina’s Cruzeiro and River Plate and Newell’s Old Boys, with 14.

Fluminense’s last defeat against Libertadores occurred on 7 June 2023, when they were beaten by River Plate 2-0, at the Monumental de Núñez, in the 5th round of the group stage. Since then, there have been 13 games without knowing what it means to lose, with eight wins and five draws. In this edition there are three wins and two draws in five games.

With the suspension of two rounds of the Brasileirão in solidarity with Rio Grande do Sul, hit by floods since the beginning of the month, Diniz’s men will only return to the field on Wednesday (22nd). Against Sampaio Corrêa the team returns to play at the Maracanã for the return match of the Copa do Brasil. Finally, in the first leg, the Tricolore won 2-0, in Cariacica.

The greatest unbeaten record in the history of the Libertadores

1st — Palmeiras (2021-2022) and Atlético-MG (2019-2022): 18 matches

2nd — Flamengo (2020-2021) and Sporting Cristal (1962-1969): 17 matches

3rd — Palmeiras (2023-2024) and Corinthians (2012-2013): 16 matches

4th — América de Cali (1980-1983): 15 games

5th — River Plate (1977-1978 and 2018-2019), Newells Old Boys (1992) and Cruzeiro (1998-2004): 14 matches

6th — Fluminense (2023-2024): 13 games

Follow Jogada10 on social media: Twitter, Instagram AND Facebook.

Source: Terra

You may also like

Hot News



Join our community of like-minded individuals and never miss out on important news and updates again.

follow us